• Raqs Media Collective 1
  • Raqs Media Collective 2
  • Raqs Media Collective 3
  • Raqs Media Collective 4
  • Raqs Media Collective 5

Raqs Media Collective: Still More World

MATHAF: ARAB MUSEUM OF MODERN ART, DOHA

Atrium and Galleries 1, 2 and 3

21 March 2019 - 31 July 2019  

Raqs Media Collective’s artistic practice examines questions of the everyday, alongside philosophical and historical inquiries of the universe. Unravelling structures of economies, time, and language, their work examines the shifting state of contemporary life and boundaries of visibility. This exploration of transformation, is embedded in the process and subject of their work, and in the collective’s name – ‘raqs’ – a term for movement and whirling, in Urdu/Hindustani, Arabic, and Persian.

Raqs Media Collective: Still More World draws on the energy of Doha’s urban landscape of light, which symbolises this global city in continuous movement, its networks of people, and raw materials. Thirteen installations ranging from videos to textiles and sculptures, made between 2011 and 2019, are presented at Mathaf and across the city of Doha.  

Literary stories and scientific anecdotes about the cycles of progress and change appear in these works, touching on the movement of people and populations, as the material and immaterial are contrasted. Playing with language, energy and digital technologies, the series of five Dohas for Doha (2019) are displayed at Mathaf and as an intervention in the urban environment on Burj Doha, using the lights and architecture of this iconic building to mark the conversation between Raqs and the city. The dense hanging of carpets, To People (2019), shows 'people' as pixelated crowds, referencing the diversity of Doha’s inhabitants and expanded digital networks. Other works explore the connections between living organisms, the natural world, geological time and the cosmos.  

The works in this exhibition re-examine human progress and natural resources, considering historical and contemporary movements of people and the way terrains change. Continuing Raqs’ exploration of the immeasurable, Still More World offers a rephrasing of the prevailing sensibility, embodying the double bind of humanity’s present condition; the promise and desire for growth coupled with the question of how much more the earth has left to give.

• Raqs Media Collective 1 AR
  • Raqs Media Collective 2 AR

     

  • Raqs Media Collective 3 AR
  • Raqs Media Collective 4 AR
  • Raqs Media Collective 5 AR

     

مجموعة رقص ميديا: تبقى عوالِم أخرى

متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث، الدوحة

الردهة والقاعات 1 و2 و3

21 مارس - 31 يوليو 2019

تطرح "مجموعة رقص ميديا" في أعمالها الفنية قضايا يومية وتساؤلات تاريخية وفلسفية ذات علاقة بالكون. وتبحث أعمالهم، إلى جانب محاولة تفكيك بُنى الاقتصاد والزمن واللغة، عن حدود ما نراه وما تشهده الحياة المعاصِرة من تبدُّلات. وهذا البحث في حالة التغيّر والتبدّل مُكرَّسٌ في عملية إنتاجهم الفني وفي موضوع أعمالهم وحتى في استخدامهم لمصطلح "رقص" في اسم المجموعة والذي يشير إلى الحركة والالتفاف باللغات الأردية/الهندستانية والعربية والفارسية.

استُلهمَ معرض "مجموعة رقص ميديا: تبقى عوالِم أخرى" من طاقة مدينة الدوحة الحافلة بالأضواء حيث ترمز تلك الطاقة إلى هذه الحاضِرة العالمية في تطورها المستمر وشبكات الناس، والمواد الخام المتنوعة. وفي هذا الإطار سيتم عرض مجموعة مِن 13 عملاً تركيبياً في "متحف" وفي مدينة الدوحة، وقد تم إنتاج تلك الأعمال بين عامي 2011 و2019 وتشمل عروض فيديو ومنسوجات ومنحوتات.  

وفي إطار تقديم ذلك التباين بين كل ما هو ماديّ وغير ماديّ، تتطرّق الأعمال لقصص أدبية وموضوعات علمية ذات صلة بمراحل التطوّر والتغيّر، وتتوقف عند مفهوم حركة السكان والشعوب. وكنوع من الحوار بين "مجموعة رقص ميديا" ومدينة الدوحة، ومن خلال التلاعب باللغة والطاقة والتكنولوجيا الرقمية، يتم عرض خمسة أعمال من سلسلة "دوحاتٌ للدوحة" (2019) في "متحف" ، وكذلك "برج الدوحة" عبر استخدام الأضواء والنمط المعماري لهذا المبنى البارز. أما السجاد الكثيف بصرياً في عمل "إلى الناس" (2019) فيظهر فيه الأشخاص على شكل حشود رقمية غير واضحة المعالم في إشارة إلى تنوّع السكان في الدوحة والشبكات الرقمية الآخذة في التوسّع. وتستكشف أعمالٌ أخرى في المعرض تلك الصلات القائمة بين الكائنات الحية والعالَم الطبيعي ومفهوم الزمن الجيولوجي والكون.  

تُعيد أعمال هذا المعرض معالجة مفهوم التطور الإنساني والموارد الطبيعية المتوافرة، مع الأخذ في عين الاعتبار الحركات التاريخية والمعاصِرة للشعوب وكذلك التغيرات الحاصلة في الطبيعة. وضمن المحاولات المستمرة لمجموعة رقص ميديا في استقصاء ما يتعذّر قياسه، يأتي معرض "تبقى عوالِم أخرى" بصياغة جديدة لوعينا عبر تجسيد الإشكالية المزدوجة المتمثلة بالوضع الحالي للإنسانية وكذلك الوعد والرغبة بالتطور في إطار التساؤل عن مدى قدرة الأرض على الاستمرار في العطاء.